Conformity marking of electrical products in Australia and New Zealand

For electrical and electronic products in Australia and New Zealand, the three previous conformity marks, C-Tick, RCM and A-Tick (for Australia) have been consolidated into a single common mark, which is the Regulatory Compliance Mark (RCM).

RCM denotes compliance with the regulatory requirements for both electrical safety and interference. The change was made 1 March 2013 for a 3 years transition period, so from 1 March this year it will be effective. Thereby, the RCM shall hereafter be the only mark to indicate compliance with the ACMA (Australian Communications & Media Authority) regulations for telecom, radio, EMC and electromagnetic energy.

For New Zealand the RCM also covers applicable regulations of the Radio Spectrum Management (RSM). But radio products must also be marked with “R-NZ”, which replaces the former SCN (Supplier Code number).

A new database has been established for suppliers’ registration. This is operated by the Electrical Regulatory Authorities Council (ERAC), which is the coordinating body for electrical regulatory functions for the 8 Australian states and territories + New Zealand.